Up! And Anchor

Tossing of the whirl-blades,
And the crash of the sea below
A thousand silent singing tongues,
Whispers as they go.

And when I set my starry course
For heaven-bound once more,
I point toward the song’s bower,
Beyond a crumpled shore.

Up! And anchor lifts and groans!
The seas smash quick with light!
The flickers remind, the star stays on,
My ship to steer her by.

So bring awash the seas again,
And let them crackle at my door.
I trace this thread and hold it,
‘Til I run in sky once more.

14 thoughts on “Up! And Anchor

  1. Ooo, such a pwitty poem. *happy sigh* ^_^ I like this one muchly, Bets!! This was my favourite part…

    “Tossing of the whirl-blades,
    And the crash of the sea below
    A thousand silent singing tongues,
    Whispers as they go.

    And when I set my starry course
    For heaven-bound once more,
    I point toward the song’s bower,
    Beyond a crumpled shore”

    *loves* You should write a poem book. *nods nods nods* πŸ˜€

    1. That…is totally okay. o.O I had no idea my writing could possibly work with music. Let me know what you come up with! And I’m glad you like it. πŸ™‚

  2. I did it! Yeah! My family likes it… probably since it is the first song music I’ve written… can’t wait to play/sing it for you!

  3. This is so beautiful, and as Mirza said, essency. πŸ˜€ I love the flow of it; it really feels like the ocean. Well done, mon Shawnie! πŸ˜€

Thoughts?

