55 Reading Queries

  • 1. Favorite childhood book?  Argh.  Probably Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling.  We had to read it for Kindergarten, and my Mom hated the book.  So I ended up having my Daddy read them to me in his office in our basement, while I leaned against him.
  • 2. What are you reading right now?  A few?  Tolkien’s The Lays of Beleriand, Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker’s Creek, and the first 30 chapters of Andrew Peterson’s last Wingfeather Saga book.  Believe me, there are more.
  • 3. What books do you have on request at the library?  None at the moment, I picked up my hold.
  • 4. Bad book habit? Starting too many.  Or borrowing them by the trillion.  Thankfully, I have nice friends. 😉
  • 5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.
  • 6. Do you have an e-reader? Yes, I have a Kindle Touch.
  • 7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I tend to read several at once, to put it mildly.
  • 8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? …change? reading habits?
  • 9. Least favourite book you read this year (so far)?  Hesiod’s Theogeny, most likely; mostly due to class discussions on it that were…eh.  I’ve read a lot of good ones.
  • 10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?  Hah!  Singular!  Hilarious.  I’ve loved Empire of Bones and Death by Living by N. D. Wilson, the entire Supervillain of the Day series by Katie Lynn Daniels, and Prelude to Foundation by Isaac Asimov this year. To name a few.
  • 11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Not too often, but my comfort zone is pretty broad.
  • 12. What is your reading comfort zone? I don’t usually do vampires, or Amish/romance fiction.  I tend not to read a ton of historical fiction either as of late, actually.
  • 13. Can you read in the car? I can, most days.
  • 14. Favorite place to read? On my bed, or in this one particular overstuffed chair in our living room.  I can just wedge myself perfectly into it.  Well, perfectly as long as I don’t sit there for 5 hours straight.  I’ve tried, believe me.
  • 15. What is your policy on book lending?  If I like you very muchly, I will lend you a book and I will trust you to return it and discuss it.  So far all of them have come home safe.
  • 16. Do you ever dog-ear books? Yes.  *wry smile*  As if I don’t have bookmarks or something…
  • 17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? Yes.  Almost never ever ever in fiction books.
  • 18. Not even with text books? Textbooks are a yes.
  • 19. What is your favourite language to read in?  Latin, because I’ve worked to acquire that ability, and I can draw meaning from sentence construction and word choices that is harder to grasp in my native language.
  • 20. What makes you love a book? Humor, to some degree, and emotion.  The quality of the writing, the ebb and flow of the words.  The characters, and if they live and breathe inside my head.  If the story rings true.
  • 21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?  The characters, the writing…basically all those things that make me love a book.
  • 22. Favorite genre?  Hah.  I can’t chose.
  • 23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did)?  I’m just going to say I wish I read more fantasy.  More good, solid brilliant fantasy.  Actually, I wish I read more in general in the fiction category…
  • 24. Favourite biography?  Aheh.  *thinks*  Possibly a biography (long since lost in boxes) on the life of Ronald Reagan.  We shared a common vision experience:  Hey!  There are leaves on the trees, and I can see them!
  • 25. Have you ever read a self-help book?  I don’t think so.  Unless Scripture counts.
  • 26. Favourite cookbook?  The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook by Cybele Pascal.  Homemade jammy dodgers?  Oh yes.
  • 27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? Death by Living.  Hands down.  ‘Tis best coupled with Empire of Bones, because then a character you’ve journeyed with lives it.
  • 28. Favorite reading snack?  Tea.  And gummy worms or Swedish fish.  Provided I come up for air long enough to eat.
  • 29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.  I’m going to say Jane Eyre.  Let’s just say my expectations of it differed greatly from reality.
  • 30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? No idea.
  • 31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?  If I didn’t like the book, I didn’t like it.  I try not to eat people because they do.
  • 32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? Hah!  I can’t choose.
  • 33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read? It doesn’t quite count, but probably Dostoyevsky’s The Brother’s Karamazov.  It was huge, I was 13, and I still haven’t gotten around to rereading it.  Totally worth it, though.
  • 34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?  None that I can think of.
  • 35. Favorite Poet? Ack.  Ack.  I plead an unfair question!  Edward Spenser, probably.  T. S. Eliot, John Donne, Andrew Joyce, Rebecca Reynolds…  Oh, man, there are so many I’m going to stop before even getting started.  I love poetry.
  • 36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time? Either 2, or 9.
  • 37. How often have you returned books to the library unread? Unread and not unfinished?  Once.  I hadn’t started the book, my loan was up, and someone else had requested it.  I got it back later.
  • 38. Favourite fictional character? *whimpers*  A ‘to the pain’ question, yet again.  Caleb (100 Cupboards Trilogy).  Rupert (Ashtown Burials).  Peet the Sock Man (Wingfeather Saga).  Jeannot Boltoph and Fin Button (Fin’s Revolution).  Sidney Carton (A Tale of Two Cities).  Cyrano de Bergerac (the same).  These are a bare minimum.
  • 39. Favourite fictional villain? Madame Defarge from A Tale of Two Cities.  Never have I hated a villain so, and that makes her a favorite.
  • 40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation? Pilgrim at Tinker’s Creek,  until some day I actually finish it.  Also, I usually bring some Asimov, Dostoyevsky or fantasy novels.
  • 41. The longest I’ve gone without reading. Once I went to the beach without books.  My family nearly put me in the hospital after we arrived because I must have been delirious when I packed.  I think I agree with them.  It was idiotic.
  • 42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. Gulliver’s Travels.  And First Contact (In Her Name: The Last War #1).   I finish most books.  These, no.
  • 43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?  People talking to me.  It shatters my concentration, and then I have to struggle to get back into that world amidst the constant noise around me.
  • 44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?  Uhm.  Uhm.  How to Train Your Dragon.  That one time the movie was better than the books.
  • 45. Most disappointing film adaptation?  Ha.  Haha.  You jest, oh question.
  • 46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?  $25.  Because I had a gift card.
  • 47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?  Almost never.   I loathe spoilers.
  • 48. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? Explicit content, the book being dark dark dark, realizing that the entirety of the dialogue is strong profanity….
  • 49. Do you like to keep your books organized? Yes and no.  Most times I just stack them all over my room, because I have half of a tiny bookshelf for them.
  • 50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? Give…them…away?  If I give you my personal copy of a book, I really like you.  Like, really really like you.  As in, you are my best friend/I want to marry you (which means I might not lose the book…  hmm…).  Not really.  But seriously, I love collecting books.
  • 51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding? No, not intentionally.  
  • 52. Name a book that made you angry.  The Chestnut King.  I spent most of the book screaming (out loud) the name of my favorite character from the series, Caleb.  The suspense of his fate was terrifying.  Thusly, I was angry, especially at one certain point I shall not mention because spoilers, sweetie.
  • 53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?  I wasn’t sure I’d like The Book Thief, but I did.
  • 54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?  I was very excited to read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  Sadly, I can’t recommend it, despite the gems inside.
  • 55. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? Well-told stories.

Books

Questions borrowed from the Indubitably Epic Shieldmaiden Mirriam Neal, who blogs at {Wishful Thinking} and tortures readers’ darlings like a pro.  She also makes me laugh and is awesome in general.  Go follow her, read her stuff, and weep for her characters.  It’s so worth it.

10 thoughts on “55 Reading Queries

  1. YES TO ALL!!! Very much liked this, could have predicted most of them(19 was surprising), and some of them I say amen!!(37, 44, and 45)

      1. Maybe not super surprising, but the least expected. I certainly can’t say I enjoy reading latin, course I only took it for two years, compared to your…..6? 8????

Thoughts?

