8 thoughts on “Invisible Vastness

  1. This is so, so good. “The God of Israel does not need infinite simplification; we need to dive into His vastness.”
    I love reading your blog!

  2. * nods, nods, nods * thankyou, dear girl, for sharing this insight. Oh His vastness! May we never lose our wonder!

  3. “God is more complex than basic competing human emotions: those human feelings are small fragments of a bigger picture. In emphasis, we have missed the whole for a part.

    Often, when people remain in the church with this mis-emphasis, their view shrinks. God is no longer just, He is exacting. He is no longer holy, He is distant.”

    Oh, yes. I’ve seen so much of this in various churches over the years and it breaks my heart. You are right, Bets. We need to dive into his vastness. I long for the type of relationship that has me in tears from the awe and beauty and majesty and righteous that is our God. Every time I feel that it’s like a brief flash of Sehnsucht and sometimes it’s almost too much to bear. I understand why we won’t be able to exist in His presence without complete, perfect bodies because just a tiny glimpse of what he is like for us here on earth can be utterly overwhelming.

    I can’t wait for the day when I can know him truly. Know him in entirety and LIVE.

    Gives me chills just thinking about it.

    Thank you, girly. ❤

    1. *smiles* What you just said echoes something my heart has been crying audibly since last night, actually. Love you, girly. ❤ Keep looking for His vastness, but don't lose sight of His closeness and His love. ❤

Thoughts?

